Angebote zu "Anniversary" (38 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

The Black Christ: 25th Anniversary Edition
€ 18.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
Black Like Me. 50th Anniversary Edition
€ 8.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE HISTORY-MAKING CLASSIC ABOUT CROSSING THE COLOR LINE IN AMERICA´S SEGREGATED SOUTH ´´One of the deepest, most penetrating documents yet set down on the racial question.´´-Atlanta Journal & Constitution In the Deep South of the 1950´s, a color line was etched in blood across Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. Journalist John Howard Griffin decided to cross that line. Using medication that darkened his skin to deep brown, he exchanged his privileged life as a Southern white man for the disenfranchised world of an unemployed black man. What happened to John Howard Griffin-from the outside and within himself-as he made his way through the segregated Deep South is recorded in this searing work of nonfiction. His audacious, still chillingly relevant eyewitness history is a work about race and humanity every American must read. With an Epilogue by the author and an Afterword by Robert Bonazzi

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
400th Anniversary Bible-KJV-1611
€ 66.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This 400th anniversary edition of the King James Version of the Bible is a reprint of the 1611 text, in an easy-to-read roman font instead of the black-letter type of the original. The original capital letters, many of which are pictorial, have been restored to each chapter in order to replicate the visual appeal of the early editions. The 1611 text is followed page-for-page and line-for-line, and all misprints are reproduced rather than corrected. The large body of preliminary matter, which includes genealogies, maps, and lists of readings, is also included. The text of the 1611 edition differs from modern editions of the King James Version in thousands of details, and this edition is the most authentic version of the original text that has ever been published. The volume concludes with an essay by Gordon Campbell on the first edition of the King James Bible.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
A Game of Thrones. 20th Anniversary Illustrated...
€ 28.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all-for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO´s Game of Thrones. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin´s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones-featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter-revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE With a special foreword by John Hodgman Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King´s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert´s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse-unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season. Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen´s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister-the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms. Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki-whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
Taxi Driver Wisdom: 20th Anniversary Edition
€ 10.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Real taxi drivers know more than how to get you there without a GPS. Philosophers all, they know how to get you there in life. This 20th anniversary edition of the wise and hilarious classic, as true now as ever, is a celebration of the witty, philosophical perspective on human nature culled from real quotations from real cab drivers who´ve been around the block. On reading the signs: ´´If a man keeps telling you he loves you, over and over, then something is wrong.´´ On vanity economics: ´´The worse a town´s economy is, the better looking the guys who work at the local gas station are.´´ Evocative black and white photos and a cab-dash padded cover with taxi-yellow page edges showcases the wisdom in style.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition
€ 17.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´´Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ´em, but remember it´s a sin to kill a mockingbird.´´ A lawyer´s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee´s classic novel-a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with rich humor and unswerving honesty the irrationality of adult attitudes toward race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man´s struggle for justice-but the weight of history will only tolerate so much. One of the best-loved classics of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has earned many dis-tinctions since its original publication in 1960. It has won the Pulitzer Prize, been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than forty million copies worldwide, and been made into an enormously popular movie. It was also named the best novel of the twentieth century by librarians across the country (Library Journal).

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
Tomboy Bride, 50th Anniversary Edition (eBook, ...
€ 8.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Colorado favorite, Tomboy Bride presents the first-hand account of a young pioneer woman and her life in a rough and tumble mining town of the Old West. In 1906 at the age of twenty, Harriet Fish hopped on a train from Oakland, California, to the San Juan Mountains of Colorado in search of a new life as the bride of assayer George Backus. Together, the couple ventured forth to discover mining town life at the turn of the twentieth century, adjusting to dizzying elevation heights of 11,500 feet and all the hardships that come with it: limited water, rationed food supplies, lack of medical care, difficulty in travel, avalanches, and many more. As she and George move from Telluride?s Tomboy Mine to the rugged coast of British Columbia, to the town of Elk City, Idaho, and then back to Colorado?s Leadville, Harriet paints a poignant picture of a world centered around silver mining, sharing amusing and often challenging experiences as a woman of the era. With a new foreword by award-winning author Pam Houston, this 50th anniversary edition also includes previously unpublished black and white photographs documenting Harriet´s journey. Tomboy Bride endures as a classic of the region to this day as it captures in heart-felt emotion and vivid detail the personal account of Harriet Backus, a true pioneer of the West.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
Last Orders (Picador 40th Anniversary Edition) ...
€ 5.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Last Orders is a much-loved classic of English literature. It won both the 1996 Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. In 2001, it was adapted into an award-winning film starring Michael Caine and Bob Hoskins. Four men once close to Jack Dodds, a London butcher, meet to carry out his peculiar last wish: to have his ashes scattered into the sea. For reasons best known to herself, Jack´s widow, Amy, declines to join them. On the surface the tale of a simple if increasingly bizarre day´s outing, Last Orders is Graham Swift´s most poignant exploration of the complexity and courage of ordinary lives. In 2012 Picador celebrated its 40th anniversary. During that time we have published many prize-winning and bestselling authors including Bret Easton Ellis and Cormac McCarthy, Alice Sebold and Helen Fielding, Graham Swift and Alan Hollinghurst. Years later, Picador continue to bring readers the very best contemporary fiction, non-fiction and poetry from across the globe. Discover more at picador.com/40

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Woman in Black (eBook, ePUB)
€ 10.95 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Chance Hardwick, the fictitious star of the breakout film Plains and Hills, is widely considered the greatest, most charismatic young movie actor of the postwar generation. However, his meteoric rise to fame and his tragic demise have remained an inexplicable puzzle to all who knew him, as well as to his millions of fans around the world.But all these years later, famed producer and film historian Gordon Frost has gathered Chance?s family, friends, lovers, and colleagues?all the people who loved and loathed him?to tell his story and try to come to terms with the elusive, unknowable figure who continues to haunt their lives. The oral history he?s pieced together uncovers the secret life of one of America?s premier talents. From Chance?s humble Midwestern beginnings, to his time in New York as an acting student, and finally his turn as a Hollywood icon, all the pieces fit together?or so it would seem.But who is Chance Hardwick really? And moreover, who is the mysterious woman watching over his grave each year on the anniversary of his death?Narratively inventive and always engaging, The Woman in Black spans America in the 1950s in its exploration of film, fame, and how well we ever really know each other.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot
Power to the People: The World of the Black Pan...
€ 21.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In words and photographs, here is the story of the controversial Black Panther Party, founded in 1966 by Bobby Seale and Huey P. Newton. The words are Seale´s, with contributions from Kathleen Cleaver and many others; the photographs, which capture range from the party´s charismatic leaders to its daily work in African American communities, are by Stephen Shames, who also provides an introduction. Published on the 50th anniversary of the party´s founding, Power to the People describes the struggles and celebrates the achievements of the only radical political party in America to make a difference in the struggle for civil rights.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Mar 17, 2019
Zum Angebot