Angebote zu "Anniversary" (36 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Black Like Me. 50th Anniversary Edition
€ 9.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE HISTORY-MAKING CLASSIC ABOUT CROSSING THE COLOR LINE IN AMERICA´S SEGREGATED SOUTH ´´One of the deepest, most penetrating documents yet set down on the racial question.´´-Atlanta Journal & Constitution In the Deep South of the 1950´s, a color line was etched in blood across Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. Journalist John Howard Griffin decided to cross that line. Using medication that darkened his skin to deep brown, he exchanged his privileged life as a Southern white man for the disenfranchised world of an unemployed black man. What happened to John Howard Griffin-from the outside and within himself-as he made his way through the segregated Deep South is recorded in this searing work of nonfiction. His audacious, still chillingly relevant eyewitness history is a work about race and humanity every American must read. With an Epilogue by the author and an Afterword by Robert Bonazzi

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 18, 2019
Zum Angebot
Black Theology and Black Power: 50th Anniversar...
€ 20.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand
Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
A Game of Thrones. 20th Anniversary Illustrated...
€ 28.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all-for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO´s Game of Thrones. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin´s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones-featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter-revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE With a special foreword by John Hodgman Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King´s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert´s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse-unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season. Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen´s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister-the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms. Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki-whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Taxi Driver Wisdom: 20th Anniversary Edition
€ 9.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Real taxi drivers know more than how to get you there without a GPS. Philosophers all, they know how to get you there in life. This 20th anniversary edition of the wise and hilarious classic, as true now as ever, is a celebration of the witty, philosophical perspective on human nature culled from real quotations from real cab drivers who´ve been around the block. On reading the signs: ´´If a man keeps telling you he loves you, over and over, then something is wrong.´´ On vanity economics: ´´The worse a town´s economy is, the better looking the guys who work at the local gas station are.´´ Evocative black and white photos and a cab-dash padded cover with taxi-yellow page edges showcases the wisdom in style.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition
€ 17.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´´Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ´em, but remember it´s a sin to kill a mockingbird.´´ A lawyer´s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee´s classic novel-a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with rich humor and unswerving honesty the irrationality of adult attitudes toward race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man´s struggle for justice-but the weight of history will only tolerate so much. One of the best-loved classics of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has earned many dis-tinctions since its original publication in 1960. It has won the Pulitzer Prize, been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than forty million copies worldwide, and been made into an enormously popular movie. It was also named the best novel of the twentieth century by librarians across the country (Library Journal).

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 18, 2019
Zum Angebot
Last Orders (Picador 40th Anniversary Edition) ...
€ 5.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Last Orders is a much-loved classic of English literature. It won both the 1996 Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. In 2001, it was adapted into an award-winning film starring Michael Caine and Bob Hoskins. Four men once close to Jack Dodds, a London butcher, meet to carry out his peculiar last wish: to have his ashes scattered into the sea. For reasons best known to herself, Jack´s widow, Amy, declines to join them. On the surface the tale of a simple if increasingly bizarre day´s outing, Last Orders is Graham Swift´s most poignant exploration of the complexity and courage of ordinary lives. In 2012 Picador celebrated its 40th anniversary. During that time we have published many prize-winning and bestselling authors including Bret Easton Ellis and Cormac McCarthy, Alice Sebold and Helen Fielding, Graham Swift and Alan Hollinghurst. Years later, Picador continue to bring readers the very best contemporary fiction, non-fiction and poetry from across the globe. Discover more at picador.com/40

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Black April
€ 17.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The defeat of South Vietnam was arguably America´s worst foreign policy disaster of the 20th Century. Yet a complete understanding of the endgame--from the 27 January 1973 signing of the Paris Peace Accords to South Vietnam´s surrender on 30 April 1975--has eluded us. ´´Black April´´ addresses that deficit. A culmination of exhaustive research in three distinct areas: primary source documents from American archives, North Vietnamese publications containing primary and secondary source material, and dozens of articles and numerous interviews with key South Vietnamese participants, this book represents one of the largest Vietnamese translation projects ever accomplished, including almost one hundred rarely or never seen before North Vietnamese unit histories, battle studies, and memoirs. Most important, to celebrate the 30th Anniversary of South Vietnam´s conquest, the leaders in Hanoi released several compendiums of formerly highly classified cables and memorandum between the Politburo and its military commanders in the south. This treasure trove of primary source materials provides the most complete insight into North Vietnamese decision-making ever complied. While South Vietnamese deliberations remain less clear, enough material exists to provide a decent overview. Ultimately, whatever errors occurred on the American and South Vietnamese side, the simple fact remains that the country was conquered by a North Vietnamese military invasion despite written pledges by Hanoi´s leadership against such action. Hanoi´s momentous choice to destroy the Paris Peace Accords and militarily end the war sent a generation of South Vietnamese into exile, and exacerbated a societal trauma in America over our long Vietnam involvement that reverberates to this day. How that transpired deserves deeper scrutiny.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Power to the People: The World of the Black Pan...
€ 21.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In words and photographs, here is the story of the controversial Black Panther Party, founded in 1966 by Bobby Seale and Huey P. Newton. The words are Seale´s, with contributions from Kathleen Cleaver and many others; the photographs, which capture range from the party´s charismatic leaders to its daily work in African American communities, are by Stephen Shames, who also provides an introduction. Published on the 50th anniversary of the party´s founding, Power to the People describes the struggles and celebrates the achievements of the only radical political party in America to make a difference in the struggle for civil rights.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 19, 2019
Zum Angebot
Wenger Ibex Notebook Rucksack 17,3 Black Ballis...
€ 106.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Ibex 125th Anniversary Ballistic 17´´ Laptop-Rucksack Special Edition zum 125-jährigen Jubiläum: Der Ibex 17´´ Laptop-Rucksack besteht aus widerstandsfähigem ballistischem Polyester und ist mit geräumigen Fächern und Sicherheitsfeatures wie einem gepolsterten ´´Triple Protect´´ Laptop-Fach ausgestattet, damit Sie alles Wichtige sicher verstauen können. Merkmale: Separates 10´´ Tablet-Fach Organizer zum ordentlichen und griffbereiten Verstauen von Accessoires wie Kabeln, Ladegeräten und Visitenkarten Quick-Pocket für den leichten Zugriff auf häufig benötigte Dinge Netzseitentaschen für eine Wasserflasche oder einen Regenschirm Atmungsaktive Rückenpolsterung, damit der Träger nicht ins Schwitzen kommt Stossdämpfende Schulterriemen für höchsten Komfort Verstärkte ergonomische Griffstange Tragegriff zur Befestigung am Griff von Rollengepäck für komfortables Reisen mit mehreren Gepäckstücken Höhe: 47,9 cm Nettogewicht: 1,4 kg Aussenmaterial: Polyester Kapazität: 27 l Hinweis: Dieser Artikel kann nur an eine deutsche Lieferadresse ausgeliefert werden.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 18, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Hobbit Or There and Back Again
€ 16.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A brand new edition of the most successful of all Tolkien titles, to mark its 70th anniversary. Perfect for a gift, in also ties in with the forthcoming movie, and is packaged to match the new ´´The Children Of Hurin´´ novel. Includes two colour fold-out maps, black and white line drawings and colour paintings.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 18, 2019
Zum Angebot