Angebote zu "Anniversary" (36 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops [Filter löschen]

Black Like Me. 50th Anniversary Edition
8,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE HISTORY-MAKING CLASSIC ABOUT CROSSING THE COLOR LINE IN AMERICA´S SEGREGATED SOUTH ´´One of the deepest, most penetrating documents yet set down on the racial question.´´-Atlanta Journal & Constitution In the Deep South of the 1950´s, a color line was etched in blood across Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Georgia. Journalist John Howard Griffin decided to cross that line. Using medication that darkened his skin to deep brown, he exchanged his privileged life as a Southern white man for the disenfranchised world of an unemployed black man. What happened to John Howard Griffin-from the outside and within himself-as he made his way through the segregated Deep South is recorded in this searing work of nonfiction. His audacious, still chillingly relevant eyewitness history is a work about race and humanity every American must read. With an Epilogue by the author and an Afterword by Robert Bonazzi

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
A Game of Thrones. 20th Anniversary Illustrated...
35,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all-for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO´s Game of Thrones. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin´s landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones-featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter-revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE With a special foreword by John Hodgman Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King´s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert´s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse-unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season. Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen´s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister-the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms. Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki-whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Taxi Driver Wisdom: 20th Anniversary Edition
10,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Real taxi drivers know more than how to get you there without a GPS. Philosophers all, they know how to get you there in life. This 20th anniversary edition of the wise and hilarious classic, as true now as ever, is a celebration of the witty, philosophical perspective on human nature culled from real quotations from real cab drivers who´ve been around the block. On reading the signs: ´´If a man keeps telling you he loves you, over and over, then something is wrong.´´ On vanity economics: ´´The worse a town´s economy is, the better looking the guys who work at the local gas station are.´´ Evocative black and white photos and a cab-dash padded cover with taxi-yellow page edges showcases the wisdom in style.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition
17,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´´Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ´em, but remember it´s a sin to kill a mockingbird.´´ A lawyer´s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee´s classic novel-a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with rich humor and unswerving honesty the irrationality of adult attitudes toward race and class in the Deep South of the 1930s. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence, and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina and quiet heroism of one man´s struggle for justice-but the weight of history will only tolerate so much. One of the best-loved classics of all time, To Kill a Mockingbird has earned many dis-tinctions since its original publication in 1960. It has won the Pulitzer Prize, been translated into more than forty languages, sold more than forty million copies worldwide, and been made into an enormously popular movie. It was also named the best novel of the twentieth century by librarians across the country (Library Journal).

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Last Orders (Picador 40th Anniversary Edition) ...
4,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Last Orders is a much-loved classic of English literature. It won both the 1996 Booker Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize. In 2001, it was adapted into an award-winning film starring Michael Caine and Bob Hoskins. Four men once close to Jack Dodds, a London butcher, meet to carry out his peculiar last wish: to have his ashes scattered into the sea. For reasons best known to herself, Jack´s widow, Amy, declines to join them. On the surface the tale of a simple if increasingly bizarre day´s outing, Last Orders is Graham Swift´s most poignant exploration of the complexity and courage of ordinary lives. In 2012 Picador celebrated its 40th anniversary. During that time we have published many prize-winning and bestselling authors including Bret Easton Ellis and Cormac McCarthy, Alice Sebold and Helen Fielding, Graham Swift and Alan Hollinghurst. Years later, Picador continue to bring readers the very best contemporary fiction, non-fiction and poetry from across the globe. Discover more at picador.com/40

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Dahlia Black
22,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

For fans of World War Z and the Southern Reach Trilogy, this suspenseful history commemorates the five-year anniversary of the Pulse--the alien code that hacked the DNA of Earth´s population--and the response team who faced the world-changing phenomenon.henomenon.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Power to the People: The World of the Black Pan...
22,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Published on the fiftieth anniversary of the party´s founding, provides an in-depth look at the history of the Black Panther Party, which advocated armed self-defense to counter police brutality and inspired a national movement of community organization.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Joker (DC Black Label Edition)
13,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Joker has been mysteriously released from Arkham Asylum, and he´s none too happy about what´s happened to his Gotham City rackets while he´s been ´´away.´´ Briuan Azzarello and Lee Bermejo bring you the most terrifying Joker tale ever written! Joker tells the story of one very dark night in Gotham City--a harrowing night of revenge, murder and manic crime as only the Joker can deliver it, as he brutally takes back his stolen assets from The Penguin, The Riddler, Two-Face, Killer Croc and others. Brian Azzarello and Lee Bermejo--the superstar, critically acclaimed creative team behind Batman: Damned and Luthor--unite to tell a haunting, crime noir story about the Clown Prince of Crime. Joker´s 10th Anniversary is celebrated with this brand new, DC Black Label edition. DC Black Label, a new publishing imprint from DC Entertainment, gives premier talent the opportunity to expand upon the canon of DC´s iconic Super Hero comic book characters with unique, standalone stories that are outside of the current DC Universe continuity. Featuring an all-star lineup of creative teams that will craft their own personal definitive DC stories in the tradition of compelling literary works like Batman: The Killing Joke, All-Star Superman and Kingdom Come.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot
Wenger Ibex Notebook Rucksack 17,3 Black Leathe...
137,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

125th Anniversary Ibex Black Leather 17´´ Laptop-Rucksack Special Edition zum 125-jährigen Jubiläum: Der Ibex 17´´ Laptop-Rucksack ist mit geräumigen Fächern und Sicherheitsfeatures wie einem gepolsterten ´´Triple Protect´´ Laptop-Fach ausgestattet, damit Sie alles Wichtige sicher verstauen können Merkmale: Separates 10´´ Tablet-Fach Organizer zum ordentlichen und griffbereiten Verstauen von Accessoires wie Kabeln, Ladegeräten und Visitenkarten Quick-Pocket für den leichten Zugriff auf häufig benötigte Dinge Netzseitentaschen für eine Wasserflasche oder einen Regenschirm Atmungsaktive Rückenpolsterung, damit der Träger nicht ins Schwitzen kommt Stossdämpfende Schulterriemen für höchsten Komfort Verstärkte ergonomische Griffstange Tragegriff zur Befestigung am Griff von Rollengepäck für komfortables Reisen mit mehreren Gepäckstücken Höhe: 48 cm Nettogewicht: 1,6 kg Aussenmaterial: Polyester / Leder Kapazität: 27 l Hinweis: Dieser Artikel kann nur an eine deutsche Lieferadresse ausgeliefert werden.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 18.06.2019
Zum Angebot